What people are saying!

We pride ourselves on our ability to add a spark to your event. Read what past clients have to say, or find more on Wedding Wire


We booked, A House On Fire, for our January 7, 2017 wedding in Lake Placid, NY and we have SO MANY good things to say! We are from Southern CT throwing a wedding in Upstate NY, so we had never heard the band in person. We booked based on the great reviews, some awesome videos/recordings, and their impressively long and varied song list.

Hans (who heads things up) was extremely communicative and very receptive to our specific needs (very detailed song requests for what we were going to walk out to, cut the cake to, first dance/parent dances etc.). Everything went off without a hitch and they perfectly nailed doing a seamless mix of classic rock, top 40s, and more eclectic Phish/Grateful Dead/reggae (which is the stuff we’re into!).

Everyone raved about how great they were and how unique and fun the music selection was (not your typical top 40 wedding stuff* which was EXACTLY what we were going for!). They also went way out of their way, not only by coming from Burlington, VT to Lake Placid, NY on a frigid, snowy day, but by bringing their acoustic drum set and by letting my husband’s band from back in the day do a few songs at the end.

Plus, everyone was so nice, so enthusiastic, and clearly having a great time!

Book them! 

- Caitlin Rohan 2017


Thank YOU guys so much. Holy cow!! That was an absolute blast and an incredible dance party! That is all I can think to say! House on Fire did BEYOND an amazing job at our wedding. 95% of the guests (big wedding of 200) were out of their chairs and dancing, so much so that the floor was shaking and bending.

When the band finished their last song, the whole crowd proceeded to shout “ONE MORE SONG”, which they gladly played! I cannot speak more highly of this band and the truly fantastic job they did at our wedding! Thank you guys so much! I would recommend this band 20 times over. We truly had a fantastic time and you guys will be highly recommended from us.

Thank you for everything!

- Jordan & Alex 2016


I hope all is well with you on this crisp fall morning! I am just following up with you regarding Zach and my wedding on September 10th at Jay Peak. You guys rocked the house (tent)!!!!Everyone is still talking about how awesome the wedding was because of the killer band!I knew you guys would do amazing, but it’s nice to hear it from my entire wedding guests that you made this wedding so memorable!

I hope you guys enjoyed yourselves that night, I know I did!I wish I was able to dance for a longer time, but alas, we got pulled away to do more pictures for a while towards the end of the night.
Speaking of being extremely pleased with your amazing performance, is there a place where I can leave a raving review of you guys??

Thanks again for everything, your band is aptly named!!

- Natalie Rose Shortsleeve 2016


Hello Hans, This is Samantha Burnham (the bride from the 9/4/16 Sugarbush wedding). Thank you so much for your performance at our wedding. Chad and I had a GREAT time, your music was spot-on perfect, and you read the crowd so well. We are so pleased with how everything turned out, thank you again for your time during your Labor Day weekend. We will be sure to give you all great reviews, please pass along to the band that we truly enjoyed their music.

Thank you again

- Samantha Burnham 2016


I booked this band without hearing them play live and I would do it again in a heartbeat. Our faith in the band was based on other reviews, the sounds clips they sent us from previous events, and our conversations with the man in charge. Despite being geographically challenged (Vermont band, NYC couple), Hans (the man in charge) made this process as stress free as possible. He was thoughtful not only to the type of music my fiancee and I enjoyed, but also the preferences of our parents and guests. EVERYONE was on the dance floor and I still receive compliments of how amazing our band was. They played all the right tunes and I am so grateful. Thanks so much to AHOF for helping to make our wedding memorable for all!

A House on Fire was an amazing addition to our wedding. They are an awesome band that can play a wide variety of genres and really gets the crowd up and dancing. We danced the night away and if we had to change anything about our wedding it would be to have a bigger dance floor because no one could resist this band. We used “Best Bands” to book and they were really helpful. After booking with AHOF, we were able to give them song preferences including a “do not playlist” which they stuck to. Overall, a really great experience and made our wedding reception more fun than we could have imagined!

A House on Fire (AHOF) is a band managed by “Best Bands”. Many of our friends who have gotten married in the MA/VT/NH area had recommended using Best Bands to find our band. We were choosing between a few bands (using their song lists to decide) and ended up selecting AHOF after seeing them in person. We loved their musical talent, their ability to read and energize a crowd and we liked the idea that Hans (who runs Best Bands) was in AHOF. We were beyond pleased with their performance at our wedding. Many of our guests still bring up the band as a highlight when they reminisce about our wedding. We could not have asked for anything more from our wedding band ! 

- A VERY Happy Bride! 2016


Hi Hans, Sorry I am so late in getting back to you (just got back from our honeymoon), but needed to say THANK YOU for such an amazing job!!! I cannot believe how packed the dance floor stayed all night. The best band we’ve seen at any wedding ever! We can’t thank you enough for being a huge part of making our wedding what it was.

Thank you again!!!

- Becky Riddle and Jason Schneider 2016


A slightly overdue thank you for helping make our wedding so wonderful. You and the band were fantastic! Everyone I have talked to has asked where we found you and commented on how great you all were. The music during the cocktail hour was perfect and when the dancing started it didn’t stop until you did! The dance floor and beyond were packed and Tracks at the Pitcher Inn was rocking!

Please let us know if you are playing someplace local in the future as we would love to come see you. Also, feel free to add us to your list of references.

- Deb & Rick Estabrook 2016


I don’t even know where to start! A House on Fire absolutely rocked it, four months later and our friends and family are still talking about how amazing the band was at our wedding!!! They truly helped to make the night the best it could have been and I’m so thankful for it.

One of the most important things to us was that the band be able to play music we both enjoyed, but also keep the entire group on their feet – AHOF exceeded all expectations. Hans was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. He took the time to answer all my questions and even learned a new Led Zeppelin song for our first dance.

AHOF brought the perfect song selection, played to the crowd, and knew how to keep everyone moving with awesome energy and long sets. Throughout the night, our dance floor was literally packed to the brim with every age group, from 5 to 85 years. AHOF was extremely skilled and able to execute flawlessly across a wide range of genres – definitely recommend adding the horns! When the last song was played for the night, the entire crowd erupted, chanting for an encore, and AHOF did not disappoint with two more songs.

After seeing them perform at our wedding, two of our guests have booked AHOF for their own weddings next summer. Can’t recommend them enough!

- Brenna & Dan 2016


We are still getting tons of compliments on AHOF (as if we did anything!). Everyone had a blast, including us. The whole night is a bit of a blur, but the soundtrack was perfect.

Thanks so much to you and the band for really putting on a fantastic show!

- John Butler 2016


Hans & A House On Fire – What a fabulous party on Saturday. Everybody absolutely LOVED the band and you were on fire!!!! We got comments from everybody praising you – the musicality, the wide selection, the great renditions*. You really put on a great show and kept the place hopping to the very end. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for making this such a memorable experience – joy for a lifetime!

Hope we see you again real soon!

- George and Wenda 2016


Thank YOU guys so much. Holy cow! That was an absolute blast and an incredible dance party! That is all I can think to say! House on Fire did BEYOND an amazing job at our wedding.  95% of the guests (big wedding of 200) were out of their chairs and dancing, so much so that the floor was shaking and bending.

When the band finished their last song, the whole crowd proceeded to shout “ONE MORE SONG”, which they gladly played! I cannot speak more highly of this band and the truly fantastic job they did at our wedding! Thank you guys so much! I would recommend this band 20 times over. We truly had a fantastic time and you guys will be highly recommended from us.

Thank you for everything!

- David Soule 2016


I hope all is well with you on this crisp fall morning! I am just following up with you regarding Zach and my wedding on September 10th at Jay Peak. You guys rocked the house (tent)!!!!Everyone is still talking about how awesome the wedding was because of the killer band! I knew you guys would do amazing, but it’s nice to hear it from my entire wedding guests that you made this wedding so memorable!

I hope you guys enjoyed yourselves that night, I know I did!I wish I was able to dance for a longer time, but alas, we got pulled away to do more pictures for a while towards the end of the night.

Speaking of being extremely pleased with your amazing performance, is there a place where I can leave a raving review of you guys?

Thanks again for everything, your band is aptly named!

- Jolene Bathalon Maple 2016


You, and your band, were an integral part of what certainly was the best day of my daughter’s life. For that, I owe you a tremendous “thank you”. Your band did an excellent job of learning our two requested songs, and I think that that added a lot to the night-it certainly did for me. The horns were an excellent addition.

Jaymie obviously enjoyed her day. She never sat down-except to eat. The quality and ability of the band can make or break an affair like this, and I wanted you to know that your band topped off what turned out to be a perfect weekend.

Please share this letter with the entire band. They should know how pleased we are with the job that they did.

- Jim Gudelis 2016


Thank you so much to AHOF for making our wedding night a memorable one. Your band is awesome and you rocked it. You were so accommodating with our requests and we are glad you entertained our guests on our special day. It was such a relief not having to worry about all of the details (the microphone, the emcee, the cocktail piano, etc). You delivered on every and all areas!

All of the guests had positive feedback about your band. Definitely a highlight of the evening!

You were so prepared and the sax and horn were such a nice touch. The keyboard player at the ceremony deserves kudos as well. He was awesome and really made the ceremony special. If we ever know of anyone getting married in the VT area- we will definitely send them your way. Thanks again and it was great working with you. All the best.

- Addison & Sarah 2016


A huge, huge, thank you from Kyle and I, both our families, and all of our guests.

Our wedding last night was phenomenal because of AHOF! They brought the energy level up, provided a fun and welcoming atmosphere and were accommodating, extremely talented, and very friendly. Our power went out at one point, and they somehow still kept everyone on the dance floor with the drums until the power was back. Fabian deserves an extra kudos for his unrelenting flexibility, ability to work with the brides requests, and his genuine love of music.

I so appreciate all you did for my ceremony and wedding. Thank you Hans and AHOF for making our wedding so unique. We had people from all over the country saying how great the band was. Our photographer said he’s never seen so many people on the dance floor.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

- Dorrie & Kyle 2015


You guys were wonderful. The band was a massive hit, and you kept people dancing the entire night. Just what we wanted. Thanks so much for everything!

- Paige Lester 2015


Hi Hans! We absolutely loved the band and got great feedback from everyone! We only wished we could have partied longer! Lol. I was all over the place that day, but once I was finally able to focus on dancing and cutting loose, I thought the music was incredibly on point.

It was so nice of you to let Court’s family play a couple songs. I know it meant the world to them. Thanks so much again for everything and we will hopefully track you down for a show soon! We liked your page on Facebook, so we typically see your updates in terms of shows, but let me know if there’s anything in our neck of the woods on the horizon! Thanks again for everything!

- Weezie 2015


(President Woodstock Inn & GM)
Hans, Your band was outstanding and we all danced throughout the night. Thank you for bringing such life to our celebration!

I would be happy to be on your reference list.

Hope you can be booked for our new year’s eve celebration at the Woodstock Inn!

- Gary S. Thulander 2015


You guys were the best! Everyone we have talked to after the wedding has been raving about how awesome you guys were! We were all so sore from dancing so much?

Coming up on stage for the last song was a blast and was the perfect way to end the night! A House on Fire is hands down the perfect wedding band!

- Shannon Thulander 2015


You and your band were absolutely AMAZING. We thank you for making Shannon & Tyler’s wedding such a memorable celebration.

From beginning to end. Just perfect.

The surprise ending when they joined you on stage and sang was priceless. Thank you!!!

Love and peace to you and yours. 

- Mary Thulander 2015


Now that Adam and I are back from our honeymoon we wanted to send a note to express our sincere thanks to you and the incredible A House On Fire band members. You guys CRUSHED it the night of our wedding. We were completely over the moon about the songs you learned, the way you kept the party going and everyone (from our flower girls to our oldest guests) on the dance floor all night. As we look back at the evening, our hearts are full and the memories are more special than anything. You and your band members were a HUGE part of those memories.

I wanted to share a quick note on how much it meant to us that you learned the song “Home” and you and the band played it with Jesse, my brother. Those 4 minutes were some of the most special and most cherished memories of the entire day. And then, to have my brother come back up and play with you all meant the world to us, and really added such a fun element to the evening for everyone. As a musician myself, I know how tricky it can be to integrate others into the flow of your set list and you did so, flawlessly.

When we have talked to our guests about the wedding, they all seem to place the wedding in their “top 5”, and they often reference how amazing the band was. I know how hard it must be to keep a group that diverse entertained and you delivered beyond our greatest expectations.

Thank you from Adam, I, and our families. We had the most special night, and you all played a very large part in it!

Many, many thanks and we will continue to refer you to any bride/groom we know! If we can provide a testimonial or any insights to anyone seeking your services, know that we would be honored. You all are exceptional and we were so grateful to work with you! 

- Alison & Adam 2015


We booked, A House On Fire, for our January 7, 2017 wedding in Lake Placid, NY and we have SO MANY good things to say! We are from Southern CT throwing a wedding in Upstate NY, so we had never heard the band in person. We booked based on the great reviews, some awesome videos/recordings, and their impressively long and varied song list.

Hans (who heads things up) was extremely communicative and very receptive to our specific needs (very detailed song requests for what we were going to walk out to, cut the cake to, first dance/parent dances etc.). Everything went off without a hitch and they perfectly nailed doing a seamless mix of classic rock, top 40s, and more eclectic Phish/Grateful Dead/reggae (which is the stuff we’re into!).

Everyone raved about how great they were and how unique and fun the music selection was (not your typical top 40 wedding stuff* which was EXACTLY what we were going for!). They also went way out of their way, not only by coming from Burlington, VT to Lake Placid, NY on a frigid, snowy day, but by bringing their acoustic drum set and by letting my husband’s band from back in the day do a few songs at the end.

Plus, everyone was so nice, so enthusiastic, and clearly having a great time!

Book them! 

- Caitlin Rohan 2017


Thank YOU guys so much. Holy cow!! That was an absolute blast and an incredible dance party! That is all I can think to say! House on Fire did BEYOND an amazing job at our wedding. 95% of the guests (big wedding of 200) were out of their chairs and dancing, so much so that the floor was shaking and bending.

When the band finished their last song, the whole crowd proceeded to shout “ONE MORE SONG”, which they gladly played! I cannot speak more highly of this band and the truly fantastic job they did at our wedding! Thank you guys so much! I would recommend this band 20 times over. We truly had a fantastic time and you guys will be highly recommended from us.

Thank you for everything! 

- Jordan & Alex 2017


I hope all is well with you on this crisp fall morning! I am just following up with you regarding Zach and my wedding on September 10th at Jay Peak. You guys rocked the house (tent)!!!!Everyone is still talking about how awesome the wedding was because of the killer band!I knew you guys would do amazing, but it’s nice to hear it from my entire wedding guests that you made this wedding so memorable!

I hope you guys enjoyed yourselves that night, I know I did!I wish I was able to dance for a longer time, but alas, we got pulled away to do more pictures for a while towards the end of the night.
Speaking of being extremely pleased with your amazing performance, is there a place where I can leave a raving review of you guys??

Thanks again for everything, your band is aptly named!!

- Natalie Rose Shortsleeve 2016


While we were planning our wedding, my husband and I were most concerned with making the night fun for our guests. We did not have an unlimited budget, and we were certain that we would have to settle for a DJ because of the cost of live music.

After a lot of back and forth, we decided that music could make or break a wedding, so we were determined to find a great band that fit our budget. We did a lot of research and found A House on Fire.  Their set list was perfect – we wanted music that everyone would enjoy.

Our goal was to keep all of our guests on the dance floor all night! We went to one of their shows in the Burlington area and absolutely fell in love with them. The entire venue was up on their feet for hours (as were we). It was abundantly clear that they could keep people entertained! We booked them immediately for the reception, and also booked a few of the musicians to play our ceremony and cocktail hour.

We wanted an acoustic feel for the ceremony and cocktail hour, and they nailed it. The music at our reception was beyond our wildest dreams. We were lucky to find great vendors all around, but I’m certain that A House on Fire truly made our wedding exceptional. Our guests never stopped talking about how much fun they had – and it’s clear from our pictures that all of our guests were on their feet all night. Our parents’ friends, our bosses, colleagues, friends, and all of our relatives danced the night away. Not only are they exceptional musicians (and you never get the feeling that they are a “wedding band” – they are just really talented musicians), but they are such a pleasure to work with and plan with. A House on Fire is a steal – they cost less than Boston or New York bands and far surpass many of them in talent. Book them today! You will NOT be disappointed and your guests will thank you for it!

- Alison Langlois Johnson 2015


A House on Fire is a stellar band no matter what you’re looking for! We love dancing, so for our wedding we wanted to get our guests on the dance floor as much as possible.

AHOF played a great mix of crowd-pleasing dance songs, slow songs, and songs that were meaningful to us. Our guests couldn’t stop complimenting us on our choice of band.

They were also incredibly flexible and helpful in the planning stages. Couldn’t recommend them highly enough 

- Carolyn Strainic 2015


A House on Fire set the barn on fire at our wedding reception! The band was completely tuned in to the crowd and adjusted their playlist to fit the prevailing mood.

More than that, it was clear they all love what they do, and so enjoyed being part of a loving celebration.

What more could you want for the biggest day of your life?!” Thanks for a great night. We really had a blast, and you guys were a big, big part of the experience!

- Barney & Kayla 2015


(Wedding Coordinator at Equinox Resort & Spa)
A House on Fire was awesome for the Smith-Strainic Wedding! The guests and staff are still talking about how great A House on Fire is.

I will be sure to recommend you guys to other wedding couples looking for reception bands. I look forward to working with you again soon.

Best of luck on the rest of your season!

- Charlotte Callahan 2015


Just got back from our honeymoon! I really wanted to thank you guys for making it such an awesome night. You totally read the mood of the party and kept the energy level high, I can’t even count the number of compliments I had from guests that night and the next day on how great A House on Fire was.

At one point I commented to a friend that I felt like the venue had given us too small of a dance floor to which he responded, they probably didn’t anticipate literally every guest up on their feet and dancing.

I will highly recommend you guys to all my friends. Thanks again for making it such an awesome night. Hope all is well, see you around the mountain bike trails of VT. when we move back in a few years.

- Sean Donovan 2015


Working with A House on Fire was not only a pleasure – you were so professional and easy to email and talk on the phone to (especially important when planning a long distance wedding!) – but your music made every aspect of the day.

We asked you to learn a few songs that were important to us, and you did such a fantastic job and helped us personalize our ceremony with some pretty unconventional songs. But it was really the first dance song, that was a surprise for the Groom and his favorite song, that blew us away. Because AHOF learned Jefferson Starship, “Have You Seen the Stars Tonight” for us, and then played it so wonderfully, our first dance is the sweetest memory of the whole day – or as my husband now says “The best first dance in the history of the universe.”

And all the songs on your regular play list that you put together for the reception kept everyone dancing the entire time- the dance floor was never empty, and I saw people dashing to the dance floor when they heard their favorite songs. The best part was the last few songs when everyone on the dance floor was singing along and clapping to the beat. Our guests were full of compliments for you guys, totally blown away by the dance party, and energy.

Music and dancing was really important to us for our wedding and we were really worried about finding the right band, and working with AHOF was the best decision we made for the wedding. Thank you so much for making our wedding day exceptional.

- Kendall & James 2015


AHOF far exceeded our expectations.  Hans was so easy to work with and he listened to all of our requests/suggestions and was able to make our reception extremely personal.  We had a friend sing our first dance and he was more than happy to work with her to make it perfect.  My wife performed guitar and sang at the reception, and the band welcomed her with open arms up on stage.  The band even dedicated a song "A Natural Woman" to the both of us :)  Our guests loved the band so much they started chanting "one more song, one more song" and Hans and the band did not even think twice about playing another song to keep the party going.  In working with Hans, we have formed a friendship and we hope to stay connected in the future.  Thank you for your help in making our wedding absolutely perfect! We have had multiple guests tell us it was the best wedding they had ever been to - and we know a lot of that had to do with the music by AHOF.

Thanks again.  You are awesome!

- Jill & Belle 2017


We hired A House on Fire to play at our wedding in August 2017, and in a word, they were fantastic. Hans stayed in touch with us prior to our event, and was always timely and clear with what information the band needed by when, what services they offered and how much everything would cost, which all meant no surprises on the big day. On the day of the event itself, they arrived on time, and were nothing but professional and friendly from setup. The music itself was great - we can't recommend AHOF enough given the variety of music they play and how incredibly well they play it, the band's high energy, their flexibility to deal with day of requests and their overall ability to get people on the dance floor. Many guests let us know the next day how much fun they had that night, and we think that is largely a testament to how well AHOF played. Thanks Hans and team!

- Mike and Stephanie Brocks 2017


Thank you, thank you all so so much for such a fantastic night!  Everyone had so much fun, especially me. I don't think I barely left the dance floor. You guys were absolutely fantastic! Everyone enjoyed your performance and we felt truly fortunate to have been able to book your band for the wedding. Good feelings all around! I have told so many people how great you are, and everyone who was there kept commenting afterwards how much fun they had and how awesome the band was.  You rocked it.

 

Thank you all so much.  It was such a special day to begin with and you guys really were the icing on the cake and made it an absolutely perfect evening.  I will never forget how much fun we had.

 

Thank you

- Sarah Sincerbaux 2017


A short note to thank you, and the House On Fire band members, for your terrific gig at our place last weekend in Jay, including your kindness of bringing your brass with you.  “ Outstanding”, “incredibly good”, is only part of the praise we heard about the quality of your band, from all our guests. Many present are musicians, one is even a producer, and they were very appreciative of your work. We share their view entirely! My own excitement and euphoria prevented me from speaking with you and other members of your band the way I normally would,  but my priority was to work my crowd as best I could to get them to enjoy your talent in the short time we had together.  This is a first for us and we only wish it had been longer!  Merci  beaucoup, Hans, and please do share our thoughts with your fellow musicians.

- Annick et Pierre 2017


This is a long overdue thank you for the fantastic job you did at Hanne’s & Mike’s wedding in Keene Valley.  There was such a sense of joy, energy, and celebration created and sustained by all of you. You read the group beautifully — your playing was right on target to keep everyone going.  We saw people dancing who we had never seen dance before.  It all added up to FUN for everyone! We also want to send a BIG thank you for enabling us to sing ‘The Happy Wanderer’ — people are still singing it!

 

You and your band were key to the success of the celebration!  We hope to see you again.  There were at least two people there who are getting married next summer and wanted all the info on you.  People are still raving about how great A House on Fire is and we certainly ‘second’ that!!

 

Many, many thanks and all best wishes to you!!

- Annie & Hynrich Wieschhoff - Parents of the bride 2017


The energy that A House On Fire brought to our wedding was incredible. Our guests continue to talk about their amazing choice of music, the outstanding vocalists, and the overall amazing performance. AHOF was easy to work with and made our wedding that much more memorable.

- Hanne and Mike 2017


Thank you so much for the best night of our lives. You guys ABSOLUTELY rocked the whole night! You completely surpassed every expectation I ever had. I honestly don’t think there is a better band out there than you guys! I STRONGLY recommend to anyone looking for a band, A House on Fire is the way to go. There is no way you will ever be disappointed. Every single one of our guests commented on how phenomenal you were. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

- Jenna & Jonno 2017


Thank you so much for playing at our wedding! You guys were absolutely amazing! We loved your song selection, and are so grateful you also took the time to learn a couple new songs for our first dance and parent dance. Also thank you so much for being so fantastic with our guests, especially with our niece who was telling you some pretty emotional stories, and for allowing Patrick's dad and nephew to play a song with you, that was such a fun surprise to see them up there playing drums and bass! Almost every single guest asked us about you guys and were absolutely blown away by your performance. You made our reception so much fun! Thank you again!!

5.0/5.0

Quality of Service: 5.0

Responsiveness: 5.0

Professionalism: 5.0

Value: 5.0

Flexibility: 5.0

 

Heather said...

This band is amazing! They have a huge range of songs and genres, and they play it all incredibly. They even learned a new song for our first dance and parent dances which I am so grateful for. They were also fantastic with our guests; they listened as our niece told them a heartfelt story, and even allowed my husband’s dad and nephew who play drums and bass to play a song with them! Almost every single guest asked us who they were and were absolutely blown away by their performance. They made our reception so much fun, and I am so glad we chose them! I highly recommend them!

- Heather & Patrick 2017


Hans ... you guys were incredible!  Everyone is still talking about the band!!! Thank you for being the perfect complement to an incredible birthday celebration.

“A House on Fire is that rare band with such amazing range that they are like having a playlist of your favorite songs.  They read the crowd so well and quickly get everyone dancing and rocking!  No one wanted them to stop playing, the party could have gone all night.  I’ve been to dozens of weddings and the party that AHOF put on for us beat them all.”

- Michael C. Creedon Jr. President Autopart International & Advance Auto Parts - NorthDivision Michael C. Creedon Jr. President Feb. 10, 2018


We had “A House on Fire” for our party during our recent Championship weekend at Sugarbush.   The band performed beyond our expectations, providing great music and vocals for our group that range from mid-20s to mid-60s.   Definitely a great band for getting folks up out of their chairs and onto the dance floor!  We look forward to booking them again in the future.

- Mark Keough


Oh my gosh, THANK YOU GUYS!! You were absolutely amazing and the first thing anyone says about our wedding, “that band was phenomenal!!”

Thank you!!

- Katie Ryan 2018


A House on Fire played at our May wedding in Chittenden, VT. Though we’d never heard the band in person, we booked based upon rave reviews and the recommendation of our incredible and experienced wedding site coordinator! Then, months before our wedding on our first formal site visit on a Sunday morning, we overheard hordes of guests from a wedding the night before RAVING about how fantastic and fun the band had been. How excited were we to find out they were talking about AHOF!

 

AHOF did NOT disappoint! We and our guests danced the entire night long. AHOF completely understood the vibe we were going for, read our crowd beautifully, and had us up and out of our chairs shaking our booties for the whole evening. We and our (mostly New York City-based) friends and family couldn’t stop talking about how wonderful AHOF was.

 

So many thanks to Hans and all of AHOF for helping to make our night PERFECT!

- Nina & Richard 2018


      Thank you so much. You guys did an amazing job! It was a great wedding and a great night. 

You guys were everything we expected and more! Hope to see you guys again in the future!

- Bob & Kristen 2018


Kenny and I just wanted to say THANK YOU again for making our wedding such a blast.  Everyone keeps telling us how amazing the band was, and we say "I KNOW!"

We just received the whole bunch of professional photos, and wanted to share a handful of your band.  They're too large to attach so the link will come in a separate email from "Kenny via PASS Plus."  Hope you enjoy.

AHOF killed it!

- Alexandra Funk/James Olmstead 2018


We loved the band and the great energy you showed in playing for us and we especially appreciate you getting Michelle there!  (Thanks also for bringing Patty as a bonus.)  Everyone felt the energy of the band vice versa, I think.  Everyone said that the wedding was one to be remembered for years, the best they'd been to and you helped make that possible.  Thanks so much for helping us make the wedding truly a day to be remembered!!

- Kathy & Ike 2018


We are so grateful to A House on Fire for putting on an amazing show for our wedding in June 2018 in Waitsfield, VT! It was about a million degrees at the venue, but they did not let that slow the party down--it just fueled the fun! They played a fantastic mix of songs that got folks of all ages dancing and kept the party going! The band members were all so kind and seemed to be having a blast! Guests were asking us about the band throughout the night and in the following days -- they loved it! Special props to the keyboardist who did a great job playing outdoors during our ceremony (also in way too warm of weather for VT!). And thanks to Hans who just made everything run so seamlessly. I had full confidence in Hans and the band from the beginning, and they went above and beyond to work through additional last minute logistics and make it such an amazing night!! THANK YOU!!

- Alden and Ben 2018


Hans, Now that Mark and I are more settled into married life, I wanted to drop you a note to say thank you. AHOF was AMAZING!! Our guests were raving about how great you were during the reception and they're still talking about AHOF today - and rightfully so! You were wonderful to work with and Mark and I will highly recommend you whenever we have the chance.

 

When our reception was over, I was talking with one of your band members and I told them that my top three priorities in planning our wedding was a great venue, great food, and great band. You guys nailed it and we couldn't have been happier or had more fun. Please pass along our thank you to all.

- Heather & Mark 2018


Hi Hans,

I just wanted to say thank you for being so incredibly wonderful at our wedding. I don't think I got off the dance floor once. You have been so amazing to work with throughout this entire process. Multiple wedding guests have called just to tell us how awesome the music was at our wedding!

I wondered if you happen to have the set lists that you played that night? The night was such a blur, and we want to relive it as much as possible. Also, do you have any CDs? I know that is a little out of date, but my mom keeps asking. My biggest regret is not having a video of the night made and I think hearing you all would help bring back all of the wonderful memories!

 

Thanks again for a wonderful night!

- Caroline & Michael 2019


On an extremely happy note - THE BAND WAS AMAZING. Honestly, everyone told us it was easily the best wedding they had ever been to, largely due to the never ending dance party, hora, and surprise Green ensuring Day performance by Zak. The whole experience was magical and the band was flawless. Thank you for everything, and for everything went seamlessly.

- Dani and Zak 2019


The band was absolutely amazing! Everyone was raving about how great the band was. It was so special for me to be able to get up with them and sing, Valerie. Certainly a highlight of the party for me! The Photographer got some great shots of it too :). I was wondering if you could let me know the names of the band members. I would love to send them a little thank you!

- Liza Lawlor 2019


I just wanted to reiterate what Thana wrote, AHOF was excellent! And you were great to work with, even taking last minute requests for dances, thank you so much! (The two other Phish fans and I really appreciated Back on the Train, also). We will definitely recommend you in the future.

 

Thanks!

- Alex Marshall


Hi Hans (and everyone from AHOF!),

I know we didn't really have time to speak much at the venue (because I was too busy dancing!) and you were emailing strictly with Alex before. However, all thanks really need to go to you and all the members of 'A House on Fire'.

Multiple people came up to both Alex and I throughout the night, as well as days after the wedding, specifically to compliment you guys. Our bar service (Ryan from McKee's) was beside himself that he even got to see a couple of you guys live! All in all, I had a great time and so did every one of my guests - you MADE our wedding. We value live music and great talent and you guys brought it. Thank you so much!!

- Thana Thalep


We just got back from our honeymoon. We will definitely write a testimonial for you guys! Everyone loved the band - we are getting lots of rave reviews still from all our guests - and we just had the very best time thanks to you guys.

- Jess & Chris


I have used, and use, many bands for corporate work, private events, and weddings. A House on Fire, is an excellent band. I find that many bands come with a privileged attitude.  A House On Fire has none of these negative attributes, only a “can do” willingness.  In addition to being a great sounding band, they also read a crowd brilliantly.

- Belinda - Belinda Norris Events Inc


The band was fantastic! They absolutely ripped it. Total professionals and they had people dancing the whole way through. Thanks so much for your help and for working with us on short notice.

- Maxwell Kanefield, Phi Delta Alpha, Dartmouth College


The BEST Wedding Band!

When my husband and I went to look at our venue, the first thing they said to us was, "If you get married here, you need to book, A House on Fire!" We are so happy we listened to them! AHOF was one of the highlights of our wedding, and made the night so much fun!

Hans and AHOF were so great to work with from the beginning! They even went above and beyond and learned our favorite Irish song! All of our guests were dancing from the ages of 3 to 90. We even had to move tables to make more space on the dance floor! The range of songs they play is incredible, and Talking Heads was a crowd hit!  The members of AHOF are incredibly talented and equally as friendly. We had so much fun with them, and give our highest recommendation!

- Melissa Padeni 2019


Exceptional Band

A House on Fire Band played at our wedding on 10/5/19 at the Barnard Inn. They were spectacular. We had the acoustic guitar play at our ceremony and piano and sax at the cocktail hour. The guitarist learned multiple pieces that we requested for the ceremony. When it came time for the band to play, it was amazing. We danced all night and I'm still getting compliments about the performance. Importantly, this is a real and authentic band that has played together for years and you can tell. Definitely one of the best decisions we made for the wedding.

- Lauren Henderson 2019


Knows how to get the party started!

The best band we could have hired for our special day! It was really important to me that people danced all night and A House On Fire did not disappoint! Everyone was getting down on the dance floor the entire night. I barely left the dance floor! They really know how to get the party started and keep it going!

- Sarah Spencer 2019


Energetic!!

We booked House On Fire band based on the recommendation of our wedding planner. She specifically recommended this group. They were phenomenal and had people on the dance floor all night, to the point where guests did not actually want to leave!! They were amazing and very energetic.

- Christine Ruh 2020


Hans!

       I just wanted to say thank you for being a part of our wedding on Friday. I may be biased because it was my wedding- but you guys were the absolute BEST, most talented, and most fun wedding band I have ever heard. I can’t remember the last time I had that much fun or danced that much at ANY wedding! Your set list was spot on, your energy was infectious, and your talent was off the chart. The first dance and the parent dances were incredible and I know you had to learn/practice those songs without much notice but you knocked them ALL out of the park. When you played “Deal” I felt like I was at my own personal Dead concert!!!  Thank you for stepping in at the semi-last minute- getting to have you guys as our wedding band was a SUPER silver lining of COVID. All of our guests have been raving about you and the rest of the band ever since the wedding and we could not agree with their assessments more. Thank you thank you thank you!

- Ashley 2020